LymeNet Home LymeNet Home Page LymeNet Flash Discussion LymeNet Support Group Database LymeNet Literature Library LymeNet Legal Resources LymeNet Medical & Scientific Abstract Database LymeNet Newsletter Home Page LymeNet Recommended Books LymeNet Tick Pictures Search The LymeNet Site LymeNet Links LymeNet Frequently Asked Questions About The Lyme Disease Network LymeNet Menu

LymeNet on Facebook

LymeNet on Twitter




The Lyme Disease Network receives a commission from Amazon.com for each purchase originating from this site.

When purchasing from Amazon.com, please
click here first.

Thank you.

LymeNet Flash Discussion
Dedicated to the Bachmann Family

LymeNet needs your help:
LymeNet 2020 fund drive


The Lyme Disease Network is a non-profit organization funded by individual donations.

LymeNet Flash Post New Topic  New Poll  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» LymeNet Flash » Questions and Discussion » Computer Questions » Copying and pasting material from a website

 - UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Copying and pasting material from a website
lou
Frequent Contributor (5K+ posts)
Member # 81

Icon 1 posted      Profile for lou     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
When I copy material from a website, say this one when someone posts an interesting report, and then paste it on a wordperfect document, it ends up with blue text underlined.

I have tried everything in the wordperfect help section, styles, etc but nothing helps.

Can get the blue text to turn black, but underlining refuses to disappear.

Can anyone suggest a cure? I am using wordperfect 11.

[This message has been edited by lou (edited 03 December 2004).]


Posts: 8430 | From Not available | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
danq
Frequent Contributor (1K+ posts)
Member # 2126

Icon 1 posted      Profile for danq   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
This is from WP 12, but maybe will help...

Text in documents located after hyperlinks turn blue, when the document is reopened.

(from Wordperfect online help )

Dan

[This message has been edited by danq (edited 04 December 2004).]


Posts: 2420 | From Davis, California | Registered: Feb 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
lou
Frequent Contributor (5K+ posts)
Member # 81

Icon 1 posted      Profile for lou     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Thanks for the reply. When I went to try this, I found that my wordperfect documents have been totally screwed up. Gigantic print that doesn't correspond to the font size in the box at the top. Can't get it to change by selecting all, etc.

The only thing I have done today is to upgrade the adobe acrobat reader and install the avast latest update, and an update to mozilla firefox too I believe. But how could this have affected wordperfect? Or is this virus-instigated?

Don't understand. Hate computers. Had enough aggravation today and taking myself off to the sack. Bah humbug.

[This message has been edited by lou (edited 05 December 2004).]


Posts: 8430 | From Not available | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
lou
Frequent Contributor (5K+ posts)
Member # 81

Icon 1 posted      Profile for lou     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
OK, nose to grindstone again this morning.

The giant print gremlin went away during the night. I swear this was nothing to do with me.

Couldn't get the underlining to disappear from already copied document, but if the advice above is followed BEFORE the material is copied into the document (visit tools twice) then the blue and underlining do not appear.

Interesting that they say this problem was fixed in SP2, which I did not install. Got ready to do it, but was advised by dell to update the bios driver to latest version. Downloading this caused a crash and I had to reload all software. Lost all files, etc. So, didn't have the heart to try again.

These things are just not user friendly and have too many glitches. If I can ever afford it, going to switch to Mac.

In the meantime, would you consider relocating to my neighborhood?


Posts: 8430 | From Not available | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
danq
Frequent Contributor (1K+ posts)
Member # 2126

Icon 10 posted      Profile for danq   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
No.

You should see what I just went through, moving everything from my old NT 4 system to a new XP Pro system... including migration from SQLserver 6.5 to 2000, Outlook to Mozilla Thunderbird, and getting a bunch of previous-century programs to re-install... then the service packs...

Plenty of 2am nights.

But I've worked with Macs before when I was a 'pro', and I wouldn't have one if it was free. Why? Because when things work it's great and everything's all smiley - but when they don't work you're left with a yuck-face or a bomb icon or whatever, but nary a clue as to what the problem is or how to deal with it... unless things have dramatically changed over there in the past few years.

Well, that's my current opinion anyway...


Dan


Posts: 2420 | From Davis, California | Registered: Feb 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
charlie
Frequent Contributor (1K+ posts)
Member # 25

Icon 6 posted      Profile for charlie     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Macs have changed over the years....now they work on some OS called unix.

i'll have to say though this new one NEVER crashes..an application will quit now and then and it's a good idea to restart every few days but it's way more stable than any home computer I've seen.

Not uncomplicated though, and when i get files from my old Mac they wind up as 'unix executable files' whatever that means and I have to poke around for a way to open them.(text edit usually)

but ordinarily this Mac works perfectly fi


Posts: 2804 | From Texas | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
danq
Frequent Contributor (1K+ posts)
Member # 2126

Icon 10 posted      Profile for danq   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Oh, good! They went from a magic box to a techie's dream... what'll they think of next?

Actually if I was still 'in that game' I'd probably be futzing around with Linux.

I really liked my old NT system, it was solid as a rock... but no USB support, and vital programs (ZoneAlarm for one) not supporting it anymore. And the system board in my box was limited to 384 Megs memory, so it was time to move on.

WinXP has its goodies, but it also has more 'magic' than I care to deal with. I still prefer the DOS command prompt for some things! Forget 'wysiwyg' - I want 'what you say is what you get'. Well that sounds like Unix and C... but getting too old to wrestle with code every day. Prefer staring at the trees.


Dan


Posts: 2420 | From Davis, California | Registered: Feb 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
charlie
Frequent Contributor (1K+ posts)
Member # 25

Icon 6 posted      Profile for charlie     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Dan

I got to poking around deep in the finder of this Mac and was presented with a window that says 'Welcome to Darwin'.

I'm told this is where you can type in unix or linux commands and do all sorts of things that probably shouldn't be done....

I think I'll stay away from that area....knowing my innate curiosity I'd probably rapidly learn just enough to get myself into some real trouble.

Charlie


Posts: 2804 | From Texas | Registered: Oct 2000  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
bg
Junior Member
Member # 46416

Icon 1 posted      Profile for bg     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hi Lou, I'll add to your confusion.

Like you, I copy/paste to my word perfect 8.0. Like you I too get the color blue/underlined items.

I use my REVEAL CODES, remove the hypertext link that has the color as well as the underline feature, and delete it & other garbage that comes along for the ride!

I may have to do this several times for the length of the article I copied to WP.

Hope this helps; sometimes it doesn't work at all & I just say forget it. Betty G.


Posts: 1 | From US | Registered: Aug 2015  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
   

Quick Reply
Message:

HTML is not enabled.
UBB Code is enabled.

Instant Graemlins
   


Post New Topic  New Poll  Post A Reply Close Topic   Feature Topic   Move Topic   Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:


Contact Us | LymeNet home page | Privacy Statement

Powered by UBB.classic™ 6.7.3


The Lyme Disease Network is a non-profit organization funded by individual donations. If you would like to support the Network and the LymeNet system of Web services, please send your donations to:

The Lyme Disease Network of New Jersey
907 Pebble Creek Court, Pennington, NJ 08534 USA


| Flash Discussion | Support Groups | On-Line Library
Legal Resources | Medical Abstracts | Newsletter | Books
Pictures | Site Search | Links | Help/Questions
About LymeNet | Contact Us

© 1993-2020 The Lyme Disease Network of New Jersey, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.
Use of the LymeNet Site is subject to Terms and Conditions.